Bati Romps Home Second In Thrilling Aussie GP

 In Uncategorised

A nerve-shredding 25 lap race at Phillip Island eventually saw Alvaro come in a very close (0.223) second to Simoncelli, and ahead of Mika Kallio in third.
Third off the grid, he was first within seconds and spent the rest of the race trading back and forth with the Italian, apart from one lap where having been forced offline he dropped to fourth, recovering second position again promptly on the main straight.
Here’s his take on things…

“I tried all that I could to win, but in the end it wasn’t possible. I am happy because we had a good race. I tried to lead early on, but this was difficult because Marco also wanted to do that, so we had an entertaining fight with a high race pace. At the midway point we touched, and I lost a little ground on him that I was able to get back before the final lap.
I tried to pass him but he shut the door very well on every corner. I was just going to hang onto him for the straight, but he closed off too much for me. It was a pity to lose these five points, but I’m happy for the way the race went and now want to keep pushing at Malaysia. Marco is riding well at the moment, but we will keep fighting. “

It was great – if veering towards unbearable to watch lap in lap out – his smooth and consistent riding a huge contrast to the erratic and wild closing speeds and cornering angles of Simoncelli.
A small consolation to not clinching the win is that having laid down a number of fastest laps, he comes away with a new circuit record – 1:32.710
Fantastic job today Bati – Estupendo! Let’s hope you go one better in Sepang 🙂

Here’s the results in full…

Pos | Rider | Bike | Time
1. Marco Simoncelli Gilera 39:02.553
2. Alvaro Bautista Aprilia + 0.223
3. Mika Kallio KTM + 14.450
4. Julian Simon KTM + 14.478
5. Alex Debon Aprilia + 26.226
6. Roberto Locatelli Gilera + 26.392
7. Yuki Takahashi Honda + 26.434
8. Aleix Espargaro Aprilia + 40.546
9. Ratthapark Wilairot Honda +1:00.219
10. Fabrizio Lai Gilera +1:20.825
11. Karel Abraham Aprilia +1:22.802
12. Alex Baldolini Aprilia +1:22.864
13. Imre Toth Aprilia +1:23.995
14. Lukas Pesek Aprilia +1:39.740
15. Simone Grotzkyj Gilera + 1 lap
16. Daniel Arcas Aprilia + 1 lap
17. Doni Tata Pradita Yamaha + 1 lap


Rider | Bike | Laps
Hiroshi Aoyama KTM 15
Mattia Pasini Aprilia 15
Hector Faubel Aprilia 4
Federico Sandi Aprilia 1
Manuel Hernandez Aprilia 1

Start typing and press Enter to search