Misano: Spanish Riders Factfile

 In MotoGP
  • Jorge Lorenzo won the 250cc GP at Misano two years ago from pole and last year was second in the MotoGP race to team-mate Rossi which was a return to form after a period in which he had suffered several painful crashes and gone seven races without a podium finish. Following his victory at Indianapolis Lorenzo will be aiming to score back-to-back Mo- toGP victories for the first time.
  • Misano is one of just three current circuits at which Dani Pedrosa has not had a MotoGP podium. The other two are In- dianapolis and Phillip Island. Pedrosa did not finish the first lap at Misano in 2007 as he was knocked off by De Puniet at the first left hand bend. Last year he finished fourth when having his last race on Michelin tyres.
  • Toni Elias has put in two good perform- ances at Misano; in 2007 he was seventh still suffering pain from the leg he had broken at the Dutch TT and last year he was the first Ducati rider home in third.
  • Aleix Espargaro finished thirteenth at Indianapolis on his debut riding a MotoGP machine to become the youngest ever Spanish rider to score points in the premier-class, taking the record from Dani Pedrosa. Espargaro retired from the 250cc race last year at Misano after qualifying on the front row for the first time in his GP career.
  • Alvaro bautista won the 250cc race last year at the San Marino GP after qualifying down in 11th place on the grid.
  • 250cc GP in each of the two visits to Misano. Last year he also started from pole – one of his two pole positions of 2008.
  • Julian Simon has raced in the 250cc class for the past two years at Misano, finishing 10th in 2007 on a Honda and 5th last year on a KTM.
  • Pol Espargaro, the winner from Indianapolis, is scheduled to make his 50th Grand Prix start at the San Marino GP.
  • Start typing and press Enter to search