Statistics: Spanish Riders At Brno

 In MotoGP, News

  • Jorge Lorenzo has an excellent record in the smaller classes at Brno with a win in the 125cc class in 2004, followed by three successive podium finishes on a 250cc machine, including victories in 2006 and 2007. He also started from pole at Brno in each of his three years riding in the 250cc class. In the MotoGP class in 2008 he fin- ished tenth at Brno after missing the driest part of the qualifying session and his best lap was outside the cut-off time but he was allowed to start at the discretion of Race Direction. Last year Lorenzo crashed out of the Czech GP on lap 18 when battling for the lead with team-mate Rossi.
  • Dani Pedrosa has won in both of the smaller classes at Brno; in the 125cc class in 2003 and on a 250cc machine in 2005. He finished third at Brno in 2006, his first year in MotoGP, from ninth on the grid. In 2007 he was fourth and in 2008 he fin- ished down in 15th suffering from grip problems with his Michelin tyres. Last year he had his best ever result at Brno in the MotoGP class, finishing in second place.
  • Brno is one of just three current circuits that he has raced previously where Hec- tor Barbera did not have a podium finish in either of the smaller GP classes; the others are Le Mans and Indianapolis. Barbera’s mechanical failure at the US Grand Prix meant he lost his record of being the only non-factory rider to score points in every MotoGP race in 2010.
  • Aleix Espargaro did not compete in the Grand Prix at Brno last year as he was with- out a ride. His best result at the circuit is 10th in the 250cc class in 2008.
  • Alvaro Bautista won the 125cc race at Brno in 2006 on his way to taking the world title. He has finished on the podium at the Czech GP for the last two years in the 250cc class.
  • Toni Elias won the 125cc GP at Brno back in 2001 and had a couple of podium finishes at the Czech GP in his time com- peting in the 250cc class. He was 2nd in the MotoGP race at Brno in 2008 after qualifying in 13th place on the grid. Last year he finished third at the Czech GP – his only podium of 2009.
  • Julian Simon’s second place finish last year in the 125cc race was his first podium finish from seven starts at Brno in the 125cc and 250cc classes.
  • Hector Faubel won the 125cc race three years ago at the Czech GP – one of his five GP victories in 2007.
  • Marc Marquez finished 8th last year at Brno after qualifying down in 20th place on the grid.
  • Pol Espargaro has raced four times previously at the Czech GP, with last year’s 5th place finish being the best result that he has achieved at the Brno circuit.
  • Nico Terol’s win at Brno last year was his first dry weather Grand Prix victory.


Start typing and press Enter to search