Alex Marquez takes first win in Spanish Championship at Aragon

 In JuniorGP, News

Sunday saw a fantastic day of racing at the MotorLand Aragón circuit, where the second round of the 2011 CEV Buckler was held in front of more than 7,000 spectators.

The 125GP race was a closely fought affair with the riders pushing one another to the limit. The first significant moment came at the start when Alex Rins experienced clutch problems which cost him numerous positions, dropping to ninth by the end of the opening lap and mounting a stirring comeback. Up ahead Alex Márquez took control of the race, followed by Navarro, Antonelli and Fenali, whilst Rins set about laying down a series of fast laps until he regained contact with the leading group – riding at a pace faster than the one that achieved him pole position in the previous day\’s qualifying. Navarro and Márquez were not prepared to make it easy however, and a rousing finish saw positions swapped before Márquez took victory with Rins second after overtaking Navarro – who completed the podium in third – on the final corner.

Carmelo Morales made his vast experience count in the Moto2 race, in which he rode intelligently to command matters and take his first victory of the year. His team-mate, Jordi Torres, made a rapid start to assume first position whilst behind Morales fought hard in his attempt to pass Tomoyoshi Koyama. Joining the battling duo was Iván Moreno, who eventually got past the pair and then overtook Torres to move into first position. Morales maintained contact with his rivals and with four laps of the race remaining launched his attack on Torres and Moreno, setting two consecutive fastest laps and opening an advantage which proved to be definitive in the race.

In the Stock Extreme category Santiago Barragán took his second victory of the year, finishing ahead of Xavier del Amor and Iván Silva. Kyle David Smith had been the initial race leader until Barragán took over first spot, and it was a position he did not relinquish. Behind him Smith crashed, leaving Del Amor in a fight with Ferrer, López and Alex Mariñelarena, who was affected by an incident involving rookie Juan Borja. Free from any challenges from his competitors Del Amor began to record fastest laps until he reached Silva, and the pair initiated a magnificent battle which lasted until the late stages of the race. Mariñelarena finished fourth, having recorded the fastest lap of the race and he was the best finishing privateer.

In the Kawasaki Ninja Cup the closeness seen between Alarte and Poyatos was again witnessed in the race. Riding at a pace superior to the remainder of the field the pair fought for victory until the final lap, on which they both recorded their fastest individual laps. Alarte won by 0.160s ahead of Poyatos, with Adrià Araujo placing third at just over 11 seconds further back. Victory in the Master 30 category went to Miguel Angel Morales.The third round of the 2011 CEV Buckler will take place at the Catalunya Circuit on June 19th.

Source: CEV Buckler

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search