CEV Repsol – Aragon News Round-up

 In JuniorGP, News


The second round of the CEV Repsol held in MotorLand Aragon became a historic event in the Championship, as it was where Maria Herrera achieved victory for the first time by a female rider in the Moto3 class. In Moto2, Roman Ramos won the first race while the Swiss rider Jesko Raffin won the second. Carmelo Morales took the win in the Stock Extreme category.


Maria Herrera wrote today her name in the CEV Repsol history. The rider from Oropesa (Toledo) has been the first female rider to achieve a victory in this Championship and she did so in a very close race.

Since the start of the race, there were five riders –Maria Herrera, Jorge Navarro, Alejandro Medina, Marcos Ramirez and Adrian Martin– that escaped from the rest and formed the leading group, fighting for victory. A win that, after resisting the continuous attacks of her rivals, was for Maria Herrera. This success also gave her a cheque for free fuel for a year, which is the prize awarded to the Moto3 winner by Repsol from this round until the end of the season. Valencia’s Jorge Navarro and Malaga’s Alejandro Medina, second and third, respectively, completed the podium of the class.

With today’s result, Marcos Ramirez is the new CEV Repsol’s leader, followed by the French rider Fabio Quartararo and Maria Herrera, 3 and 4 points behind, respectively.

Maria Herrera – Moto3 Winner
“It was a difficult race, because I rode in first position nearly every lap. I tried to keep my own pace and be calmed, although the back of the bike skidded a bit. It’s the first time I win a race in the CEV Repsol and it was very difficult. I am aware that without the support of the sponsors and the team it would not have been possible and from now on I must keep taking steps ahead and achieving my objectives.”


Roman Ramos was the star of the today’s first race in this class. The rider from Cantabria had a great start as soon as the lights went out and no other rival was able to match his pace. Ramos crossed the chequered flag in first position with an advantage of more than 16 seconds over Malaysia’s Hafizh Syarhin and Kenny Noyes.
In the second race, the Swiss rider Jesko Raffin was able to recover from his crash in the first race and take the win, only 133 thousandths ahead of second-placed Roman Ramos. Alejandro Mariñelarena completed the last step of the podium.

After the two races, Roman Ramos leads the overall standings ahead of Mariñelarena, 24 points behind, and Russell Gomez, at 27.

Stock Extreme

In the highest-displacement class, Carmelo Morales took the victory after a breath-taking last lap. The Catalan rider and Valencian Xavi Fores overtook each other several times in the last lap, offering the public attending the round in MotorLand Aragon an awesome battle that was decided in the last metres in favour of Morales. Fores, who finished second, leads the overall standings 7 points ahead of Carmelo Morales and 14 over Ivan Silva.
The CEV Repsol will return in less than one moth, next June 22nd and 23rd at the Albacete Circuit.


Race – Moto3
1. Maria Herrera Spain 30:35.621
2. Jorge Navarro Spain +0.085
3. Alejandro Medina Spain +0.413
4. Marcos Ramirez Spain +6.289
5. Jules Danilo France +10.738

Championship – Moto3
1. Marcos Ramirez Spain 37 points
2. Fabio Quartararo France 34 points
3. Maria Herrera Spain 33 points
4. Wayne Ryan Great Britain 32 points
5. Alejandro Medina Spain 32 points

Race 1 – Moto2
1. Roman Ramos Spain 29:11.275
2. Hafizh Syahrin Malaysia +16.249
3. Kenny Noyes United States +16.324
4. Russell Gomez Spain +27.996
5. Miguel Poyatos Spain +42.193

Race 2 – Moto2
1. Jesko Raffin Switzerland 29:09.198
2. Roman Ramos Spain +0.133
3. Alejandro Mariñelarena Spain +13.561
4. Hafizh Syahrin Malaysia +14.720
5. Daniel Rivas Spain +14.945

Championship – Moto2
1. Roman Ramos Spain 65 points
2. Alejandro Mariñelarena Spain 41 points
3. Russell Gomez Spain 38 points
4. Jesko Raffin Switzerland 34 points
5. Hafizh Syahrin Malaysia 33 points

Race – Stock Extreme
1. Carmelo Morales Spain 28:40.585
2. Xavier Fores Spain +0.097
3. Antonio Alarcos Spain +7.613
4. Santiago Barragan Spain +11.473
5. Ivan Silva Spain +14.833

Championship – Stock Extreme
1. Xavier Fores Spain 45 points
2. Carmelo Morales Spain 36 points
3. Ivan Silva Spain 31 points
4. Santiago Barragan Spain 29 points
5. Adrian Bonastre Spain 20 points

Source: Repsol Media

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search