Making a Marc on the record books: Marquez continues to make MotoGP history

 In Marc Marquez, MotoGP, News


Marc Marquez becomes youngest rider to win back-to-back premier class races

The victories by Marc Marquez at the Sachsenring and Laguna Seca give him the record of the youngest rider of all time to win back-to-back races in the premier-class of grand prix racing, taking the record from Freddie Spencer. The following list shows the five youngest riders to have back-to-back wins in the premier-class:

Rider – Race Wins – Age
1. Marc Marquez – Germany/USA/2013 – 20 years 154 days
2. Freddie Spencer – South Africa/France/1983 – 21 years 104 days
3. Johnny Cecotto – Finland/Czech/1977 – 21 years 194 days
4. Casey Stoner – Turkey/China/2007 21 – years 202 days
5. Valentino Rossi – Japan/South Africa/2001 – 22 years 65 days

More rookie records for Marc Marquez

In addition to becoming the youngest ever rider to win back-to-back races in the premier-class of grand prix racing, Marc Marquez set a number of other records and milestones for a rookie rider in the premier-class at Laguna Seca :

  • Marquez is the first rookie in the premier-class to win back-to-back races since Kenny Roberts in Austria and France in 1978. Roberts also went on to win the following race at Mugello.
  • He is the first rider to take more than two wins in his debut season in the premier-class since Kenny Roberts took four victories on his way to winning the 500cc world title in his rookie year in 1978.
  • Marquez has already had eight podium finishes from the first nine races of the year. The last rider to have more podiums in their rookie season in the premier-class is Valentino Rossi, who finished on the podium ten times in 2000.
  • With just half of the season completed, Marquez already has a points total of 163. Only four riders in the four-stroke MotoGP era have had higher points totals in their rookie season: Dani Pedrosa scored 215 points in 2006, Jorge Lorenzo scored 190 points in 2008, Andrea Dovizioso scored 174 points in 2008 and Ben Spies scored 176 points in 2010.

Source: Dr Martin Raines

Start typing and press Enter to search