European Championship, Albacete: Race Report

 In JuniorGP, News

European Champions 2013The sixth FIM Europe European Championship was held at the Albacete circuit today in temperatures somewhat cooler than yesterday. Twelve thousand fans took the opportunity to see Hanika in Moto3, Ramos in Supersport 600 and Forés in Superstock 1000 crowned Champions of Europe.

In the Moto3 race no one dominated, and no one could relax for a second: most first ten riders had their moment of glory: overtaking right at the limit, slipping past through almost invisible gaps. For over three-quarters of the race there was no clear leader, with Andrea Migno (ITA-FTR Honda), Karel Hanika (CZE-KTM), Alejandro Medina (SPA-KTM) and Bryan Schouten (NED FTR Honda) all taking the leading position. A few meters behind the leading group came María Herrera (SPA-KTM), Jorge Navarro (SPA-Mir Honda), Stefano Manzi (ITA-FTR Honda), Fabio Quartararo (FRA-FTR Honda) and Remy Gardner (AUS-KTM). On lap 12 a clash between Navarro and Medina spoiled their podium chances but opened the door to a spectacular comeback by Gardner and Quartararo, with Herrera being pushed back to sixth place. Only the chequered flag managed to determine the outcome of a very unpredictable race, with Hanika, Schouten and Gardner finally nabbing the top slots.

In Supersport 600, Román Ramos (SPA-Kawasaki) led off and from the first moment opened up a gap over the chasing riders, holding on to his first place without taking any risks. Behind him over the first laps there was a fierce battle as a group of riders fought tooth and nail, continuously challenging and overtaking each other. Alberto López (SPA-Yamaha) lapped comfortably in second place during the first half of the race but in the end could not hold off Stefan Kerschbaumer (AUT-Yamaha), who took the runner-up slot. The López Racing rider finished third but was later disqualified for technical reasons, allowing Michal Prásek (CZE-Yamaha) to move up from fourth position. Ángel Poyatos (SPA-Yamaha) stepped up onto the podium as the first placed junior 600 Supersport rider.

In Superstock 1000, Xavi Forés (SPA-Ducati) took the lead from the lights off, lapping consistently at a pace his rivals could not match, and in the end earning himself the title of European Champion. Behind him during the first laps there was a lively struggle for second and third place between Carmelo Morales (SPA-Kawasaki) and Iván Silva (SPA-BMW). By the mid-point of the race, the Team Calvo rider had managed to open up a five-second gap over his rival, taking the runner-up slot on the podium. Iván Silva came in third, unhappy with his tyre choice and in the end being threatened by Antonio Alarcos (SPA-Kawasaki) who finished fourth. Best junior rider was Guillermo Llano (SPA -Yamaha).

Source: European Championship

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search