CEV Repsol, Portimao: Odendaal takes Moto2 title, victories for Ramírez in Moto3 and Morales in Superbike

 In JuniorGP, News


With 50 points from his two wins in Portugal, Steven Odendaal (RSA-Kalex) is the new Moto2™ European Championship champion, overtaking Edgar Pons with just two races remaining in the championship. In Moto3™, Marcos Ramírez (SPA-KTM) got back on winning form and Carmelo Morales (SPA-Yamaha) also won both races in Superbike.

Marcos Ramírez returned to the top of the podium after an intense Moto3™ Junior World Championship race which he won on the home straight against Lorenzo Dalla Porta (ITA-Husqvarna) followed by Raúl Fernandez (SPA-Husqvarna). Right from the lights, the Madrid Laglisse Academy rider took the lead with Marcos Ramírez and Lorenzo Dalla Porta behind.

Kaito Toba (JPN-Honda), Tony Arbolino (ITA-Honda) and Stefano Manzi (ITA-Mahindra) were part of a group chasing Raul Fernández and Rory Skinner (GBR-FTR KTM), who had pulled clear. Within just a few laps a large front group had formed, with the race leader changing as Tony Arbolino tried to escape.

With four laps to go, Karel Hanika (CZE-KTM) fell, taking down Ayumu Sasaki (JPN-Honda) and Kazuki Masaki (JPN-Honda) and breaking up the leading group. Ramírez, Dalla Porta and Fernández fought for the podium places with victory finally going to Ramírez followed by the Italian rider; Fernández was third, earning his first podium in the Moto3™ Junior World Championship. Jeremy Alcoba (SPA-Honda), who started fourteenth, finished fourth.

Lorenzo Dalla Porta continues as clear leader of the category with 163 points followed by Marcos Ramirez on 132, Kaito Toba on 90 and Raúl Fernandez with 67.

In Moto3™ Production, Aleix Viu (SPA-Honda) was best rider and increased his lead in the overall standings. Hector Garzó (SPA-Honda), in second place overall, was forced to quit the race.

Steven Odendaal consolidated his hold on the championship title in the first Moto2™ European Championship race, winning in a thrilling climax when he took Tetsuta Nagashima (JPN-Kalex) on the last corner. Earlier, the South African AGR Team rider started well to lead the race followed by the Japanese poleman, while Alan Techer (FRA-NTS T Pro) held third under pressure from Augusto Fernández (SPA-Tech3) and Iker Lecuona (SPA- Kalex).

The Valencian Race Experience rider and his friend and Targobank CNS Motorsport rival fought it out with Alan Techer for the last slot on the podium. Augusto Fernández passed the Frenchman several times, but in the end Techer took control on the last lap to nab third. Ahead, Steven Odendaal daringly overtook Nagashima on the last corner – a sharp right hander – to pick up the vital 25 points.

Ivo Paixao (POR-Kawasaki) took advantage of his position as local rider to finish as the top-ranked rider in Superstock 600, and eighteenth overall.

The second Moto2™ race was initially marked by the jump start of Federico Fuligni (ITA-Kalex) but as the laps went by the protagonists of the first race came to the fore. Steven Odendaal took the lead followed by Tetsuta Nagashima, Augusto Fernández and Iker Lecuona, with Alan Techer trailing and Federico Fuligni forced to do a ride-through as a penalty. While the leader and the Japanese Ajo Motorsport Academy rider pulled away, Techer caught up the chasing group and tussled with Augusto Fernández for the podium.

At the start of the last lap Alan Techer passed Steven Odendaal but the South African returned his move in the final corner as he did with Tetsuta Nagashima in race one to win and take the title of champion of the Moto2™ European Championship with two races to go until the end of the season.

This time round it was Alan Techer who was awarded the Repsol free fuel cheque, while Ivo Paixao (POR-Kawasaki) once again was best Superstock 600 rider.

Carmelo Morales made it clear that riding at the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve is like being on home ground, as he took a double in the Superbike European Championship class.

The Yamaha Laglisse rider won the first Superbike race ahead of Maximilian Scheib (CHI-BMW) and Alejandro Medina (SPA-Yamaha). Morales lead from the start with ‘Maxi’ Scheib was left behind. In the early corners Ricardo Lopes (POR-Kawasaki) and David Mcfadden (RSA-Kawasaki) suffered falls.

The Leopard Yamaha Stratos rider, starting from third, went after the defending champion but could not prevent his escape. Chilean Targobank Easyrace SBK Team rider Scheib held on to second place. In the end, Carmelo Morales finished more than ten seconds ahead of Maximilian Scheib and 22 seconds up on Alejandro Medina in third.

Marcos Andrés Solorza (ARG-BMW), sixth overall, achieved his first victory in the Privateers category followed by Tiago Magalhāes (POR-Kawasaki).

In the second Superbike race, Carmelo Morales repeated his victory. Maximilian Scheib took the lead from the start followed by Alejandro Medina and Carmelo Morales and the three riders pulled clear from the rest. With more than half the race gone, the Leopard Yamaha Stratos team rider could not keep up and with three laps to go the reigning champion passed Maximilian Scheib to win by more than four seconds, repeating his first race podium.

Maximilian Scheib took the second Repsol free fuel cheque in the second Superbike race.

In Privateers, Marcos Andrés Solorza again won, finishing fifth overall and repeating a double podium for the Targobank Easyrace SBK Team.

After the double race in Portugal, Carmelo Morales has consolidated his lead in the Superbike class with 170 points, followed by Maximilian Scheib on 153 and Alejandro Medina on 97. Niko Mäkinen (FIN-Yamaha) is the first in Privateers.

The seventh round of the FIM CEV Repsol will take place at the Circuito de Jerez on October 1st and 2nd.

Source: FIM CEV Repsol

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search