CEV Repsol, Jerez: Victories for Ramírez, Arbolino and Techer; Morales takes Superbike title after two wins

 In JuniorGP, News


Lorenzo Dalla Porta (ITA-Husqvarna) and Marcos Ramírez (SPA-KTM) will fight for the Moto3™ Junior World Championship title in the final round of the FIM CEV Repsol in Valencia. Only 14 points separates the riders after two races this weekend in Jerez where the Leopard Junior Stratos team rider cut the Italian Laglisse Academy riders’ advantage to 17 points.

More than 12,000 spectators came to the Circuito de Jerez to witness Carmelo Morales (SPA-Yamaha) holding on to the Superbike European Championship title after winning both today’s races. In Moto2™ Alan Techer (FRA-T Pro NTS) achieved his first victory of the season and the first for the NTS T Pro bike. In the Kawasaki Z Cup Eduard Rojas (SPA-Kawasaki) earned his first win of the season.

With the Moto3™ Junior World Championship title at stake, Marcos Ramírez (SPA-KTM) won the first race ahead of Lorenzo Dalla Porta (ITA-Husqvarna) and Raúl Fernández (SPA-Husqvarna), who joined him on the podium.

Kaito Toba (JPN-Honda) took the lead on the first lap ahead of Raúl Fernández, Marcos Ramírez and Rory Skinner (GBR-Kalex KTM). As the laps went by, Karel Hanika (CZE-KTM) and Ayumu Sasaki (JPN-Honda) joined up with the leading group.

On lap four Kaito Toba failed to make a turn and forced Karel Hanika off the track, pushing the Czech rider down the positions.

With more than half the race run, Lorenzo Dalla Porta was in first position followed by Dennis Foggia (ITA-KTM), Marcos Ramírez and Stefano Manzi (ITA-Mahindra), while Albert Arenas (SPA-Mahindra) had joined the leading group.

Then with three laps to go Rory Skinner crashed out, breaking up the leading group. On the penultimate lap, Marcos Ramírez held the lead and was able to pull clear of his pursuers by a few precious meters to notch up his fourth win of the season and take five points off class leader Lorenzo Dalla Porta.

In this first race, Marcos Ramírez was awarded the Repsol free fuel cheque.

Aleix Viu (SPA-Honda) was the best of the Moto3™ Production class, increasing his lead in the classification over Hector Garzó in second place.

With the starting grid unaffected by penalties as in the first race, Tony Arbolino (ITA-Honda) achieved his first victory in the second Moto3™ Junior World Championship race, ahead of Marcos Ramírez and Karel Hanika.

Karel Hanika, starting this time from pole position on a grid missing Rory Skinner who fell in the first race, took an early lead followed by Raúl Fernández, Marcos Ramírez and Kaito Toba.

The race was headed by a group of ten riders, which then broke up as a hard-charging Tony Arbolino stretched them out. Lorenzo Dalla Porta struggled to move up, knowing he could not afford to lose any more points to Marcos Ramírez in the fight for the title.

In the end, the Italian SIC 58 Squadra Corse rider gave his team their first victory in the Moto3™ Junior World Championship with Marcos Ramírez second and Karel Hanika third. Lorenzo Dalla Porta finished fifth but was penalized five seconds for exceeding the limits of the track, and ended up in eighth.

As a result, the championship will be decided in Valencia, with Lorenzo Dalla Porta just 14 points ahead of Marcos Ramírez in the standings.

Viu Aleix was on the podium again as the best Moto3™ Production rider, and Tony Arbolino picked up the Repsol free fuel cheque.

Alan Techer (FRA-NTS T Pro) gave the NTS T Pro manufacturer their first win in the Moto2™ European Championship after beating Steven Odendaal (RSA-Kalex) in an intense duel. Techer established himself as race leader in the first few laps followed by Steven Odendaal, Tetsuta Nagashima (JPN-Kalex), Dimas Ekky (INA-Kalex) and Augusto Fernández (SPA-Tech 3).

The reigning Moto2™ European Championship champion Odendaal passed Alan Techer to lead the race on the eighth lap while behind Augusto Fernández took Dimas Ekky, and Eric Granado (BRA-Kalex) joined the chasing group. With three laps to go Alan Techer and Steven Odendaal left Tetsuta Nagashima behind to fight for victory.

The South African AGR Team rider attempted to pass Alan Techer in the last corner but went wide, leaving the French rider clear to win for the first time this season and bring delight to his team.

The Repsol free fuel cheque went to Alan Techer. He was joined on the podium by Ivo Lopes (POR-Kawasaki), whose win in Superstock 600 earned him the title of champion of the category, with one more round still to be disputed at the Circuit de la Comunitat Valenciana Ricardo Tormo.

Carmelo Morales went all out for the Superbike title, winning the first race ahead of Maximilian Scheib (CHI-BMW) and Anthony Delhalle (FRA-Suzuki).

Starting from the second row, Alejandro Medina (SPA-Yamaha) led on the first lap and pulled the leading group along until he was overtaken first by Carmelo Morales and then by Maximilian Scheib. The reigning champion gradually pulled clear of the Chilean Targobank Easyrace SBK Team rider, and continued to control the race from the front. Behind, Anthony Delhalle passed the young Leopard Yamaha Stratos rider who refused give up and he fought hard for the third place on the podium right to the last corner, but in the end could not match the French JEG Racing rider.

Marcos Andrés Solorza (ARG-BMW) was again the best Superbike Privateer, chalking up his third win of the season in this class. Anthony Delhalle, meanwhile, was awarded the Repsol free fuel cheque.

In the second Superbike race Maximilian Scheib took advantage of his pole start to pull clear once again with Carmelo Morales, followed by Anthony Delhalle and Alejandro Medina.

The Chilean Targobank Easyrace SBK Team rider pulled away with the reigning champion. However, with just three corners to go to the flag, Scheib had a fuelling problem which caused his bike to lose power. Morales, who was getting ready to attempt a last ditch pass on the final corner, took advantage of the leader’s misfortune to take the race and the title.

Anthony Delhalle once again finished third followed by Alejandro Medina with Marcos Andrés Solorza taking fifth – first of the Superbike Privateers. However, with his second place as Privateer, it was Leopard Yamaha Stratos team’s Niko Mäkinen who was proclaimed European champion in the Privateers class.

Anthony Delhalle was awarded the Repsol free fuel cheque to go with his second podium finish of the day.

In the second Kawasaki Z Cup race of the weekend, Eduard Rojas (SPA-Kawasaki) took his first win of the season followed by Marc Cortell (SPA-Kawasaki) and Dani Carrau (SPA-Kawasaki). Marc Cortell still leads the overall standings with 101 points followed by the Procurve team rider, winner of the race on Sunday with 94 points.

The next round of the FIM CEV Repsol will take place at the Circuit de la Comunitat Valenciana Ricardo Tormo on 19 and 20 November with the eighth and final meeting of the season.

Source: FIM CEV Repsol

Start typing and press Enter to search