CEV Repsol, Catalan round: García, Pagliani, Raffin, Fernández and Patacca shine in Barcelona

 In JuniorGP, News

The Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya was the scenario for Sergio García (Junior Team Estrella Galicia 0.0) to take victory in the first FIM CEV Repsol Moto3™ race of the day, with Manuel Pagliani (Leopard Junior) earning a win in the second. Jesko Raffin (Swiss Innovative Investors Junior) and Augusto Fernández (Easyrace) shared the honours in Moto2™, while Matteo Patacca (SIC58 Squadra Corse) won in the European Talent Cup. The European Kawasaki Z Cup race was abandoned due to rain.

However, the day was overshadowed by the accident suffered by Andreas Pérez (Reale Avintia Academy) in the second Moto3™ race. The Reale Avintia Academy rider was evacuated by helicopter and transferred to the Hospital de Sant Pau in Barcelona, where according to the medical team at 20.30 this Sunday he is still fighting for his life; they report that the rider has suffered very serious brain injuries but his heart is still beating.

Sergio García took victory in the first Moto3™ race in Barcelona ahead of Jeremy Alcoba (Junior Team Estrella Galicia 0.0) and Apiwath Wongthananon (VR46 Mastercap Team), a race led for the most part by Manuel Pagliani (Leopard Junior), who ended up failing to make the podium after colliding with Jeremy Alcoba with three laps to go.

The race was marked by the fall of Kevin Zannoni (TM Racing Factory 3570 MTA) on the second lap in which Aleix Viu (Marinelli Sniper Team), winner of the last race at Le Mans, was also involved. Manuel Pagliani (Leopard Junior), Jeremy Alcoba, Sergio García, Apiwath Wongthananon (VR46 Mastercap Team), Ai Ogura (Asia Talent Team), Raúl Fernández (Angel Nito Team) and Marc García (Max Racing Team) made up the leading group. With three laps to go the two Junior Team Estrella Galicia 0.0 riders and Apiwath Wongthananon pulled clear to take the podium honours while Manuel Pagliani finished fourth. Sergio García was awarded the Repsol free fuel cheque.

The second race was interrupted twice by two different accidents, each which brought out the red flag. The second accident was the one in which Andreas Pérez was unfortunately involved. In the end, Manuel Pagliani was first past the flag ahead of Celestino Vietti (SKY Junior Team VR46 Riders Academy) and Jeremy Alcoba, with Raúl Fernández and Marc García crossing the line next.

The Leopard Junior team rider received the Repsol free fuel cheque as the winner of the race. Raúl Fernández continues as leader of the Moto3™ Junior World Championship but with Manuel Pagliani just three points behind.

Jesko Raffin won the first Moto2™ race of the day in which he took part in an intense duel with Augusto Fernández. The Swiss poleman took the lead right from the start, followed by Edgar Pons (AGR Team), Héctor Garzó (Team Wimu CNS), Dimas Ekky (Astra Honda Racing Team) and Marc Alcoba (Dynavolt Intact Junior Team).

Jesko Raffin pulled away followed by Edgar Pons while Dimas Ekky led a small pursuing group. Augusto Fernández began to move up until he caught the AGR Team rider and eventually passed the leader to head the race. Jesko Raffin and Augusto Fernández fought a tremendous duel but in the end the leader of the category won out decisively, with Edgar Pons looking on. Behind, Héctor Garzó took fourth, beating teammate Lucas Tulovic (Team Wimu CNS) on the last lap. In Superstock 600, Roman Fischer (Pinamoto RS) was quickest, as he had been in the qualifying sessions. Jesko Raffin took the Repsol free fuel cheque as race winner.

In the second Moto2™ race, Jesko Raffin and Augusto Fernández once again went head to head in a thrilling tussle for the victory. This time, however, the outcome was decided by a lapped rider when the Swiss Innovative Investors Junior rider was forced to slow on the last lap and Augusto Fernández took the opportunity to pass him. Jesko Raffin took the lead back in the final corner but the Easyrace rider crossed the line first to win his first race of the season and take home the Repsol free fuel cheque.

With three victories and five podiums, Jesko Raffin remains leader, just 10 points ahead of Augusto Fernández in second.

In the ETC, Matteo Patacca chalked up his second consecutive victory after prevailing in a race interrupted by a red flag on the third lap when Víctor Rodríguez (Laglisse Academy) fell. The race was reduced to seven laps, with Xavier Artigas (Team Impala Honda), Carlos Torrecillas (Team Punto Moto), Julián Giral (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0.0), José Antonio Rueda (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Manuel Parra (Machado-CAME Group) as protagonists forming the leading group.

Carlos Torrecillas fell when he crashed into Xavier Artigas from behind and the group was reduced to five riders. When it looked like Xavier Artigas was sure to win Matteo Patacca passed him on the inside in the last corner to take the flag. José Antonio Rueda finished third. With this victory, the SIC88 Squadra Corse rider leads the ETC with a 24- point advantage over Julián Giral. Matteo Patacca took the Repsol free fuel cheque as race winner.

Heavy rain and numerous falls led to the second race of the European Kawasaki Z Cup being abandoned. Joan Sardanyons (Proelit) continues as leader of the category.

The next round of the FIM CEV Repsol will be held at MotorLand Aragón on July 29.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search