Jerez weekend sees key CEV Repsol victories

 In JuniorGP, News

The Circuito de Jerez Ángel Nieto was the setting of the sixth round of the FIM CEV Repsol today, where Carlos Tatay (Fundación Andreas Pérez 77) took an impressive double in Moto3™, Edgar Pons (Baiko Racing Team) achieved a conclusive victory in Moto2™ and Izan Guevara (Cuna de Campeones) was proclaimed champion of the European Talent Cup at the first opportunity by winning the first ETC race of the day. Diogo Moreira (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0.0) won the second ETC race.

Carlos Tatay dominated in the first race of the day in the FIM Moto3™ Junior World Championship. The Fundación Andreas Pérez 77 team rider made good on his pole start and took the lead right from the off. Behind came Adrián Fernández (Laglisse Academy), Jeremy Alcoba (Laglisse Academy), Vicente Pérez (Cuna de Campeones), Mario Suryo Aji (Astra Honda Racing Team) and Xavier Artigas (Leopard Impala Junior Team). The poleman gradually pulled clear as the laps went by, chased by Jeremy Alcoba and Xavier Artigas. Behind them was a chasing group which lost Mario Suryo Aji in a fall.

Pedro Acosta (Fundación Andreas Pérez 77) and Ryusei Yamanaka (Junior Team Estrella Galicia 0.0) pulled away from the chasing group and in a final dramatic lap they closed up to Jeremy Alcoba and Xavier Artigas to fight for the remaining two places on the podium. In the end, Carlos Tatay won his second FIM CEV Repsol race of the season more than seven seconds clear. Jeremy Alcoba was second and Xavier Artigas third ahead of Pedro Acosta and Ryusei Yamanaka. Carlos Tatay received the Repsol free fuel cheque as race winner.

In the second FIM Moto3™ JWCh race of the day, Carlos Tatay left his rivals without options, once again taking the lead from the beginning and moving clear with Jeremy Alcoba and Ryusei Yamanaka, followed by a large group. Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Ajo) stood out from the chasing group with Xavier Artigas in attendance, but was unable to narrow the gap with the front three riders. With three laps left, the poleman, who was on harder rear tyres than his opponents, upped the pace and once again crossed the finish line alone. Ryusei Yamanaka edged Jeremy Alcoba to take second place in a photo finish. Alcoba, however, left the Circuito de Jerez Ángel Nieto in a stronger position at the head of the championship – 37 points ahead of Carlos Tatay, who moves into second place, with Xavier Artigas third, 40 points behind the leader. Carlos Tatay took the Repsol free fuel cheque.

In the Moto2™ European Championship, Edgar Pons consolidated his leadership with another victory, his sixth of the season. Héctor Garzó (CNS Motorsport) started from pole and took the lead followed by Alessandro Zaccone (Promoracing) and Edgar Pons, with the three riders pulling clear. Behind there was a crash involving several riders, which left Keminth Kubo (VR46 Master Camp Team) alone in fourth position chased by Tommaso Marcon (Team Ciatti-Speed Up). The championship leader overtook first Alessandro Zaccone and then Héctor Garzó to win the race by more than two seconds from the poleman and Zaccone. Tommaso Marcon was fourth and Keminth Kubo, fifth. Héctor Garzó took the Repsol free fuel cheque.

Edgar Pons has bolstered his Moto2™ ECh leadership and now has a 53-point advantage over Héctor Garzó. Garzó moves ahead of Niki Rikhard Tulli (Team Stylobike) as the rider did not take part in this round of the FIM CEV Repsol. Pons therefore has a chance to take the title at the next round in Albacete. Peetu Paavilainen (Redding-Pinamoto RS) was the best in Superstock 600, achieving his first victory in a category led by Alessandro Zetti (FAU55 Racing).

In the ETC, Izan Guevara didn’t waste his first chance at the title. The Cuna de Campeones rider won the first race, and the eighth place of Fermín Aldeguer (Bester Capital Dubai), his great rival in the fight for the championship, meant that he had won the title at the first attempt. Izan Guevara chalked up his sixth victory of the season after a race with an exciting finishing battle with his teammate Daijiro Sako and Diogo Moreira (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0.0). From the start, Diego Moreira took the lead followed by a large group that broke up when with Marcos Ruda (Cuna de Campeones) fell. Diogo Moreria and Izan Guevara moved clear chased by José Antonio Rueda (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0.0). Daijiro Sako closed in on José Antonio Rueda and with two laps to go he caught the leading two riders. In the end Guevara took his sixth consecutive victory of the season ahead of Daijiro Sako and Diogo Moreria. However, Daijiro Sako was penalized for exceeding the track limits on the last lap and had to give up his second position to Diogo Moreira, who received the Repsol free fuel cheque.

In the second ETC race of the day Diogo Moreira earned his first victory of the season in a fast race which Diogo Moreira led along with Daijiro Sako and Izan Guevara among others. It seemed at first that Diogo Moreira and Izan Guevara would escape, then it looked like Daijiro Sako’s turn, but in the end it all came down to the final explosive lap where the poleman took the flag followed by David Alonso (Sama Qatar Ángel Nieto Team) and Izan Guevara. Alex Millán (Hawkers Karbium Aro), José Antonio Rueda (Talent Team Estrella Galicia 0,0), Dajiro Sako and Lorenzo Fellon (ZF Grand Prix School) couldn’t make the podium. Diogo Moreira was presented with the Repsol free fuel cheque.

The seventh FIM CEV Repsol round of the season is at the Albacete circuit on October 13.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search